DATE & TIME

Tue, 5. April 2022
19:30


VENUE

Theater Akzent
Theresianumgasse 18
1040 Vienna
www.akzent.at


TICKETS

Tickets @ Theater Akzent

The new project "Les Sahariennes" brings together 4 extraordinary singers, to present the artistry of women from the neighbouring Sahara-countries Algeria, Morocco and Mauretania. Noura Mint Seymali, Malika Zarra, Souad Asla and Dighya Mohammad Salem bring their common musical heritage on public stages to reaffirm their solidarity and to stand united against the difficulties of geopolitics.

Whether Berber, Tuareg, Griot or Gnawa - the musical heritage unites the neighboring countries as a family. The women of the region have always been the guardians of cultural traditions, even if their musical knowledge and virtuosity are reserved for private celebrations and rarely heard in public. A unique opportunity to experience Les Sahariennes live at Salam Orient.

Noura Mint Seymali grew up in a rich musical culture, where the sounds from the Sahara, the Maghreb and West Africa merge. Born into a prominent line of Moorish griot, she was musically trained as a child by her parents, themselves pioneers in further developing their traditional music. With her own band Noura Mint Seymali performs at renowned festivals worldwide.

Malika Zarra comes from southern Morocco and, in addition to her jazz studies in France, dealt with the Gnawa and Chaabi tradition. In the late 90s, she moved to New York and works successfully with various jazz celebrities in the field of experimental music.

Souad Asla was born in the desert city of Bechar, in the south of Algeria. With her music, she always promoted the rich traditions of her homeland and brings together the sounds of Diwan, Malhoun, Zeffani and Gnawa with the music of the North African exile. She herself has been living in Paris for 20 years now and gained international fame with her project "Lemma", which is dedicated to the women from Bechar and their virtuos musicality.

Dighya Mohammad Salem was born 1966 in Dakhla and grew up in an Algerian refugee camp. She toured with her Saharaoui band Shaheed El Wali internationally, but kept returning to Algeria. It was in 2018 wen she decided to seek asylum together with her daughter in France. There she created her new band with the support of the agency of artists in exile.

Noura Mint Seymali – Vocals, Ardin
Souad Asla
– Vocals, Percussion
Dighya Moh Salem
– Vocals, Tbal
Malika Zarra
– Vocals, Percussion
Jeiche Ould Chighaly
– Guitar, Tidinit
Mohamed Abdennour
– Guembri, Mandole, Karkabou
Anne-Laure Bourget
– Percussion, Darbouka, Daf
Mohammed Menni
– Percussion, Cajon, Darbouka

Art direction: Piers Faccini
Coproduction : Opéra de Lyon and Dérapage Prod
An original idea by Olivier Conan & Greg Connan


 

Covid-19 rules (Theater Akzent):
No G-certificate, FFP2 mask required.

DATUM & UHRZEIT

DI, 05. April 2022
19.30 Uhr


ORT

Theater Akzent
Theresianumgasse 18
1040 Wien
www.akzent.at


TICKETS

Tickets über Theater Akzent

Erst im vergangenen Jahr entstand das Projekt „Les Sahariennes“, das vier renommierte Sängerinnen zusammenführt, um die besondere Kunstfertigkeit von Frauen aus den benachbarten Sahara-Ländern Algerien, Marokko und Mauretanien zu feiern. Abseits der Konflikte, die allzu oft die Beziehungen zwischen ihren Ländern bestimmen, bringen die vier außergewöhnlichen Sängerinnen Noura Mint Seymali, Malika Zarra, Souad Asla und Dighya Mohammad Salem ihr gemeinsames musikalisches Erbe auf öffentliche Bühnen, um ihre Solidarität zu bekräftigen und geeint gegen die Schwierigkeiten der Geopolitik einzutreten.

Ob Berber, Tuareg, Griot oder Gnawa - das musikalische Erbe eint die Nachbarländer als Familie. Die Frauen der Region sind seit jeher die Bewahrerinnen kultureller Traditionen, auch wenn ihr musikalisches Wissen und ihre Virtuosität den privaten Feierlichkeiten vorbehalten sind und nur selten öffentlich gehört werden. Eine einmalige Gelegenheit also, Les Sahariennes im Rahmen von Salam Orient live zu erleben.

Noura Mint Seymali ist in einer reichen Musikkultur aufgewachsen, wo die Klänge aus der Sahara, dem Maghreb und Westafrika verschmelzen. Geboren in eine prominente Linie von maurischen Griot geboren, wurde sie schon als Kind von ihren Eltern, selber wegweisende Musiker/innen, musikalisch ausgebildet. Mit ihrer eigenen Band tritt sie auf renommierten Festivals weltweit auf.

Malika Zarra stammt aus Südmarokko und beschäftigte sich neben ihrem Jazz Studium in Frankreich mit der Gnawa und Chaabi Tradition. In den späten 90er Jahren zog sie nach New York und arbeitet hier sehr erfolgreich mit verschiedenen Jazz Größen im Bereich der experimentellen Musik.

Souad Asla wurde in der Wüstenstadt Bechar, im Süden Algeriens geboren. Mit ihrer Musik fördert sie seit jeher die reichen Traditionen ihrer Heimat und führt die Klänge von Diwan, Malhoun, Zeffani und Gnawa mit der Musik des nordafrikanischen Exils zusammen, lebt sie doch selbst mittlerweile seit 20 Jahren in Paris. Internationale Bekanntheit erlangte sie mit ihrem Projekt „Lemma“, das den Frauen aus Bechar und ihrer virtuosen Musikalität gewidmet ist.

Dighya Mohammad Salem wurde 1966 in Dakhla geboren und ist in einem Flüchtlingslager in Algerien aufgewachsen. Mit der Sarahoui-Band Shaheed El Wali tourte sie international, kehrte aber immer wieder nach Algerien zurück. Erst 2018 ging sie mit ihrer Tochter nach Frankreich, wo ihr Asyl gewährt wurde.  Hier gründete sie ihre Band mit der Unterstützung der renommierten Agentur für Künstler/innen im Exil.

Noura Mint Seymali – Gesang, Ardin
Souad Asla
– Gesang, Percussion
Dighya Moh Salem
– Gesang, Tbal
Malika Zarra
– Gesang, Percussion
Jeiche Ould Chighaly
– Gitarre, Tidinit
Mohamed Abdennour
– Guembri, Mandole, Karkabou
Anne-Laure Bourget
– Percussion, Darbouka, Daf
Mohammed Menni
– Percussion, Cajon, Darbouka

Art direction: Piers Faccini
Coproduction : Opéra de Lyon and Dérapage Prod
An original idea by Olivier Conan & Greg Connan


 

Covid-19 Regel (Theater Akzent):
Kein G-Nachweis, FFP2-Maskenpflicht.